- GAN Aptitude Test Battery • 2026
- All six sections
GAN aptitude test prep with 10 full-length practice tests.
2,020 test questions plus 320 lesson and drill questions: 2,340 worked answers.
For electrical apprenticeship applicants whose JATC uses the GAN Aptitude Test Battery: Numerical Computation, Reading, Mechanical Reasoning, Numerical Reasoning, Paper Folding and Problem Solving, each with a lesson, drills and a key that explains every wrong choice. One payment. The files are yours to keep.
30-day refund: reply to your order email within 30 days for a full refund.
- 3 PDFs, download right after checkout
- Files yours to keep
- 14-day PEF planner included
- 10full practice tests, all six sections
- 2,340original questions, every answer worked
- 420/420reading keys matched by two blind readers
- 1,173print-ready pages in 3 books
The three books you download.
- 10full practice tests
- 2,340questions, every answer worked
- 420/420reading keys blind-checked
- 1,173pages in 3 books
Four weeks of practice, with shorter drill days and longer test days
Suggested schedulePlan for 30 to 60 minutes on drill days and about 2.5 to 4 hours on full-test days, including breaks and review. Adjust to your JATC’s test format and your time.
The GAN pack at a glance
- Who it is for
- Adults applying to an IBEW/NECA electrical apprenticeship (JATC) that uses the GAN Aptitude Test Battery, especially career changers who have not done fractions, number series or paper folding in years.
- What is inside
- Book 1: what GAN and the JATCs publish, 15 JATCs referencing GAN’s test or Personal Experience Form, a 14-day Personal Experience Form planner, a four-week plan, a lesson and drills for every section. Books 2 and 3: Practice Tests 1 to 10, each with answer sheets, a score page and worked keys.
- Price
- US$29 once. Instant download: 3 PDFs. Files are yours to keep; free updates while this edition is sold, at least through December 31, 2027.
- Made by
- Tsai Electro. Every math and diagram answer re-solved by a separate checker script; every reading answer confirmed by two blind readers; every JATC fact dated and sourced.
Which test does your JATC give?
- Open your JATC’s official application or test instructions and find the name of the aptitude test.
- If your JATC confirms the GAN Aptitude Test Battery, this pack is for you. If its page mentions only GAN’s Personal Experience Form, ask the JATC which aptitude test it gives before buying.
- It names the electrical training ALLIANCE (formerly NJATC) test: get the U.S. kit instead.
15 JATCs reference GAN or GAN’s Personal Experience Form on their own pages.
Each card opens the program’s own page. Status as that page showed it on October 9, 2026; the program’s page is the final word.
- Boston, MABoston JATC • Local 103Online January 4 to 29, 2027Program page →
- Chicago, IL *EJATT / IN-TECH • Local 134Open for the March 2027 testProgram page →
- Columbus, OHElectrical Trades Center • Local 683Rolling applicationsProgram page →
- Denver, CODenver JEATC • Local 68Reopens February 1, 2027Program page →
- Des Moines, IAElectrical Apprenticeship • Local 347Program page →
- Detroit, MIDetroit EITC • Local 58Closed; dates in spring 2027Program page →
- Fresno, CACentral California ETI • Local 100Apply any time onlineProgram page →
- Indianapolis, IN *ETI of Indianapolis • Local 481Year-roundProgram page →
- Los Angeles, CALA/OC ETI • Local 11Program page →
- Louisville, KY *Louisville Electrical JATC • Local 369Closed; testing October 19 to 22Program page →
- Milwaukee, WIMilwaukee ETI • Local 494Window openProgram page →
- Minneapolis, MNMinneapolis Electrical JATC • Local 292Open to February 15, 2027Program page →
- Nashville, TNNashville Electrical JATC • Local 429Online, year-roundProgram info packet →
- Phoenix, AZPhoenix Electrical JATC • Local 640Deadline March 15, 2027Program page →
- Washington, DC / MDJATC Local 26 • Local 26Open all yearProgram GAN sheet →
* The page names GAN’s Personal Experience Form but not the test by name. Cards without a status: the program’s page showed no current application window.
Six sections in every practice test.
Skip Problem Solving if your JATC gives the five-section version.
These are original GAN-style practice questions, not questions from the GAN test. Section counts and times are practice estimates; your JATC’s test may differ. They practice the skills and item types GAN’s published materials describe. They are not official GAN simulations, and their difficulty and timing have not been checked against the live test.
Numerical Computation
Whole numbers, fractions, decimals and percents. Exact answers, lowest terms, no calculator.
Reading
7 passages, 6 sentence-completion items each: main idea, detail, inference, vocabulary.
Mechanical Reasoning
Pictures of everyday mechanisms: gears, levers, pulleys, ramps, fluids. 32 of 45 are picture questions with no calculation.
Numerical Reasoning
Number series: find the rule, pick the next term.
Paper Folding
Fold, punch, then pick the unfolded sheet from five pictures.
Problem Solving
Multi-step word problems, for the six-section version listed by Columbus, Fresno, Minneapolis and Lincoln.
GAN does not publish item counts or time limits per section. The section counts and practice times in this pack follow test-prep vendors’ published figures; Boston describes the whole test as 3 hours and Los Angeles as 2 hours 20 minutes. Answer choices follow GAN’s own sample pages: five for Numerical Computation, Numerical Reasoning and Paper Folding, four for Reading and Mechanical Reasoning.
Three questions taken directly from Practice Test 1.
Each key below is printed in full, every “Why not” line included, exactly as it appears in the book.
Section directions (printed once): Choose the picture of the sheet when it is completely unfolded.
1. Folded once; 1 hole punched.
1. E Folds in order:
Fold 1: the bottom left half is folded over onto the top right side along the diagonal from the top left corner to the bottom right corner.
Punch: column 3, row 1, through 2 layers.
Work backward: undo the folds in reverse order and mirror each hole across that fold line.
Unfold fold 1 (the diagonal from the top left corner to the bottom right corner): the hole at column 3, row 1 is mirrored to column 1, row 3.
Result: 2 holes at column 3, row 1; column 1, row 3. That is choice E.
Positions use the tick marks: columns 1 to 8 from the left, rows 1 to 8 from the top.
- Why not A: Reflected across the wrong line when undoing fold 1: used the horizontal center line instead of the diagonal from the top left corner to the bottom right corner.
- Why not B: Mirrored the whole pattern left to right.
- Why not C: Reflected across the wrong line when undoing fold 1: used the diagonal from the bottom left corner to the top right corner instead of the diagonal from the top left corner to the bottom right corner.
- Why not D: Only the holes on the top layer: drew the punch without unfolding.
3. Six gears mesh in a row, A to F. Gear A turns counterclockwise, as the curved arrow shows. Which gears turn the opposite way to gear A?
- A. B, D and F
- B. C and E
- C. B, C, D, E and F
- D. B only
3. A Two gears in mesh always turn in opposite directions.
Go down the row: A counterclockwise, B clockwise, C counterclockwise, D clockwise, E counterclockwise, F clockwise.
So the gears that turn the opposite way to gear A are B, D and F.
- Why not B: picked the gears that turn the same way as A.
- Why not C: thought every gear driven by A turns opposite to A.
- Why not D: only counted the gear touching A.
6. 1/5 + 1/4 = ?
- A. 3/10
- B. 9/20
- C. 1/10
- D. 2/9
- E. 1/4
6. B The least common denominator of 5 and 4 is 20.
1/5 = 4/20 and 1/4 = 5/20.
4/20 + 5/20 = 9/20, already in lowest terms.
Answer: 9/20
- Why not A: Renamed only the second fraction to the common denominator.
- Why not C: Used the common denominator but did not change the numerators.
- Why not D: Added the numerators and added the denominators.
- Why not E: Renamed only the first fraction to the common denominator.
97 pages: the test pages for all six sections, answer sheets, the score page and worked keys.
A 14-day plan for your Personal Experience Form.
In GAN programs the PEF is scored with your test. Los Angeles says it can be up to 40% of your rank, and Washington, DC gives points only for items backed by uploaded documents. The planner turns that into two weeks of paperwork, one step at a time.
- Which pay stubs, tax forms and transcripts to request first
- Certificates and military training to collect
- How to get the one letter of recommendation that counts
- Matching every claim to a document before you submit
Documentation rules vary by JATC. Follow your program’s own PEF instructions where they differ from this plan.
Your Personal Experience Form (PEF) in 14 days
In GAN programs the PEF can be up to 40% of your rank (Los Angeles) and often replaces the interview. Only items backed by uploaded documents earn points (DC), and the form cannot be reopened once closed.
| Days | Do this |
|---|---|
| 1 to 2 | List every job with dates and hours. Request pay stubs or tax forms (W-2, 1099) for each. |
| 3 to 4 | Order high school and college transcripts; mark every math, science and shop course and semester. |
| 5 to 6 | Collect certificates: trade school, OSHA 10/30, military training (DD-214). |
| 7 to 9 | Ask for one strong letter of recommendation. Minneapolis scores letters by who wrote them, electrical contractors first, and counts only the highest-scoring letter. |
| 10 to 12 | Scan everything as clear PDFs, named by item. |
| 13 to 14 | Fill the form, match every claim to a document, submit before the deadline. |
What is in each book
The GAN Test, Lessons and Drills
Book 1 • 195 pages- What GAN and the JATCs publish: sections, scoring, retest rules
- 15 JATCs referencing GAN’s test or Personal Experience Form; confirm the test type with your program.
- 14-day Personal Experience Form planner
- Four-week plan, score tracker, error log
- A lesson, worked example and pacing plan for each section
- 320 lesson and drill questions with full keys
- Bonus: 54 circuit questions for your first apprentice year
Practice Tests 1 to 5
Book 2 • 488 pages- Five full tests, 202 questions each (167 in the five-section version)
- Bubble answer sheets for every section
- A score page with the next move for each band
- Worked keys with a “Why not” line for every wrong choice
- Paper Folding keys draw the opened sheet, holes filled in
Practice Tests 6 to 10
Book 3 • 490 pages- Five more full tests, built the same way
- The same tier mix in every test: easy, medium, hard
- 202 questions in every test
- Paced for the last two weeks of the four-week plan
Questions by section
- Practice Tests 1 to 10: 2,020
- Book 1 lessons and drills: 320
2,020 + 320 = 2,340. Not counted: Book 1’s Reading lesson and drill (4 passages of their own, not in any test) and 54 bonus circuit questions.
30-day refund: reply to your order email within 30 days for a full refund.
Every answer checked a second way.
Every math and diagram question was built from recorded numbers, then solved again by a separate checker script that uses a different method from the one that wrote it: exact fraction arithmetic for computation and word problems, a rule finder for number series, a layer-by-layer folding simulation for paper folding, and depth, height, torque and tooth counts for the mechanical pictures. The checker also confirms that each wrong choice matches its named mistake. If the checker and the key disagree on any item, the build stops; the item is rewritten and the whole bank is checked again before the books are made.
For Reading, two separate blind readers answered all 420 questions from files with no keys, and both matched every key. These are Tsai Electro’s own release checks.
- 1,920 math and diagram answers re-solved by the checker scripts
- 8,400 wrong choices, each explained by a “Why not” line in the key
- Found a mistake? Email hello@tsaielectro.com: we correct it within 48 hours and send the updated files to every buyer
Next to GAN’s own study materials
From GAN’s store pages, checked October 9, 2026. GAN’s guide comes from the test’s publisher, and many applicants use both.
Applying in Boston? Boston JATC emails its applicants a link to a free digital copy of GAN’s study guide (Boston JATC application page, checked October 9, 2026).
| Feature | This pack | GAN Study Guide | GAN Practice Problems |
|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher | This packTsai Electro | GAN Study GuideGAN Human Resources | GAN Practice ProblemsGAN Human Resources |
| Price | This packUS$29 once | GAN Study GuideUS$20 | GAN Practice ProblemsUS$30 |
| Format | This pack3 print-ready PDFs, yours to keep | GAN Study GuidePrint, or digital download within 24 hours of purchase | GAN Practice ProblemsDigital download within 24 hours of purchase |
| What the page says is inside | This packLessons, drills and 10 full practice tests in all six sections | GAN Study GuideExplanations of each test, tips, rules, definitions, practice problems and answers | GAN Practice ProblemsPractice questions covering all sections of the test |
| Full practice tests | This pack10 | GAN Study GuideNot stated on its page | GAN Practice ProblemsNot stated on its page |
| Number of questions | This pack2,340 | GAN Study GuideNot stated on its page | GAN Practice ProblemsNot stated on its page |
| Worked keys, wrong choices explained | This packEvery question | GAN Study Guide“Practice problems and answers” | GAN Practice ProblemsNot stated on its page |
| PEF planner and JATC list | This packYes: 14-day planner, 15 JATCs | GAN Study GuideNot stated on its page | GAN Practice ProblemsNot stated on its page |
| Last update shown | This packOctober 2026 | GAN Study GuideUpdated 03/2026 (digital page) | GAN Practice ProblemsNot shown |
GAN’s own study materials are the publisher’s reference. This pack is additional practice with original questions, worked explanations and printable tests, not a replacement for official test instructions.
Program and product names belong to their owners.
US$29 for all three books.
- Book 1: The GAN Test, Lessons and Drills
- Book 2: Practice Tests 1 to 5
- Book 3: Practice Tests 6 to 10
- 14-day Personal Experience Form planner
- Free updates while this edition is sold, at least through December 31, 2027; downloaded files are yours to keep
30-day refund: reply to your order email within 30 days for a full refund.
GAN’s guide is the publisher’s reference. This pack adds 10 timed practice tests and a why-not line for every wrong choice.
30-day refund.
Reply to your order confirmation email within 30 days, or write to hello@tsaielectro.com with your order number, for a full refund.
Night one: time Numerical Computation and Paper Folding only, about an hour, and do the rest the next day. Score them with the keys. Missed fractions or percents? Book 1’s Numerical Computation lesson and drills start there. Lost track of the folds? Start with the Paper Folding lesson and its worked diagrams. Tests 2 to 10 give you new items for both.
97 pages: test pages for all six sections, answer sheets, the score page and worked keys.
Your JATC uses the electrical training ALLIANCE test instead? The U.S. kit (US$39) has 1,516 algebra and reading questions in that format plus interview prep.
Questions, answered
Which JATCs use the GAN test?
In our October 9, 2026 check, 15 IBEW/NECA JATCs reference GAN’s test or GAN’s Personal Experience Form on their own pages: Boston (Local 103), Chicago (134), Columbus (683), Denver (68), Des Moines (347), Detroit (58), Fresno (100), Indianapolis (481), Los Angeles (11), Louisville (369), Milwaukee (494), Minneapolis (292), Nashville (429), Phoenix (640) and Washington, DC (26). Chicago, Indianapolis and Louisville name GAN’s Personal Experience Form but not the test, so confirm the test type with your program. The full table with links is on our aptitude test by JATC page.
What is on the GAN aptitude test?
JATC pages list five areas: Numerical Computation, Reading, Mechanical Reasoning, Numerical Reasoning and Paper Folding. Columbus, Fresno, Minneapolis and Lincoln list a sixth, Problem Solving. The test is taken on a computer at the JATC with no calculator; Nashville says pencils and scrap paper are provided.
Are these real GAN test questions?
No. These are original GAN-style practice questions written for this pack, not questions from the GAN test. Answer choices follow GAN’s own sample pages, and section counts and times are practice estimates; your JATC’s test may differ.
How many questions and minutes are in each section?
GAN does not publish item counts or time limits per section, and no JATC page we read does either. Boston describes a 3-hour test and Los Angeles 2 hours 20 minutes. This pack uses the counts and times published by test-prep vendors: 30 Numerical Computation questions in 30 minutes, 42 Reading in 25, 45 Mechanical Reasoning in 30, 20 Numerical Reasoning in 22, 30 Paper Folding in 30 and 35 Problem Solving in 35. Treat them as practice pacing.
What score do I need on the GAN test?
GAN programs usually rank applicants instead of using a cutoff: Washington, DC, Boston and Phoenix publish no minimum score. Fresno and Lincoln rank applicants 0 to 100 from the test, the Personal Experience Form and a letter of recommendation, and Fresno and Minneapolis allow a retest only after one year on the eligibility list, so every point counts.
Should I also get GAN’s own study guide?
GAN sells its study guide for US$20 (updated 03/2026) and a practice problems file for US$30, and Boston JATC emails its applicants a link to a free digital copy of the guide (checked October 9, 2026). The guide comes from the test’s publisher; this pack adds 10 full practice tests with worked keys. Many applicants use both.
How is this different from online GAN courses?
Online GAN courses offer video lessons and timed software, sold as time-limited access. This pack is three PDFs you keep and print: 10 full practice tests and 2,340 questions with written keys, plus a 14-day Personal Experience Form planner.
What is in the free sample?
All of Practice Test 1 as a 97-page PDF: the test pages for all six sections, the answer sheets, the score page and the worked keys. The pack adds Practice Tests 2 to 10, the lessons and drills in Book 1 and the Personal Experience Form planner.
Does the pack help with the Personal Experience Form?
Yes. Book 1 has a 14-day planner: which pay stubs, transcripts, certificates and letter of recommendation to gather, and how to match every claim to a document. In GAN programs the form can be up to 40% of your rank (Los Angeles), and only items backed by uploaded documents earn points (Washington, DC). Documentation rules vary by JATC, so follow your program’s own instructions.
My JATC uses the electrical training ALLIANCE test. Which product fits?
The Electrical Apprenticeship Aptitude & Interview Kit (U.S. Edition), US$39, is built for that test: 1,300 algebra and 216 reading questions, 6 timed simulations and interview prep. This GAN pack is built for the GAN Aptitude Test Battery.
How do refunds work?
30-day refund: reply to your order confirmation email within 30 days, or write to hello@tsaielectro.com with your order number, for a full refund.
Ten full-length GAN-style practice tests, ready to print tonight.
US$29 once • three PDFs • files yours to keep
30-day refund: reply to your order email within 30 days for a full refund.
Not affiliated with GAN, IBEW, NECA or any JATC.
