Not selected · English · Dual units
My account Join free Start free test
Home IBEW Aptitude Test by Local: Which Test, What Score, Who Is Open (October 2026)

IBEW Aptitude Test by Local: Which Test, What Score, Who Is Open (October 2026)

Short answer: most IBEW/NECA JATCs that name their test use the electrical training ALLIANCE aptitude test (formerly the NJATC test): Algebra and Functions, 33 questions in 46 minutes, and Reading Comprehension, 36 questions in 51 minutes, no calculator. A growing group now uses the GAN Aptitude Test Battery instead, which adds numerical computation, paper folding and mechanical reasoning. There is no national passing score: programs that publish one use 3, 4 or 5.

49 programs below, each checked on its own page October 9, 2026: 22 name the ETA test, 15 name GAN, 12 do not name their test. Programs whose sites could not be read that day are left out.

The two main tests

Electrical training ALLIANCE test

Two parts: Algebra and Functions (33 items, 46 minutes) and Reading Comprehension (36 items, 51 minutes). About two and a half hours, no calculator, no penalty for guessing. Applicants are told whether they qualified, not their exact score. (source)

GAN Aptitude Test Battery

Five areas: numerical computation, numerical reasoning, reading, mechanical reasoning and paper folding, taken on a computer at the JATC with no calculator. Usually ranked rather than pass/fail, and often paired with a scored Personal Experience Form that can replace the interview. Practice for it with the GAN Aptitude Test Practice Pack: 10 full practice tests in all six sections, 2,340 questions with worked keys, US$29. Practice Test 1 is free. (source)

Test, minimum score and status by JATC

ProgramMetroTestPublished minimumStatus on Oct 9, 2026Link
Alaska JEATT
Local 1547
Anchorage, AKNot namednot publishednot statedsource
Atlanta Electrical JATC
Local 613
Atlanta, GAETA aptitude testnot published“Applications for April 2027 Classes NOW CLOSED”source
Austin Electrical Training Alliance
Local 520
Austin, TXETA aptitude testnot published“The application portal is now open”source
Baltimore Electrical JATC
Local 24
Baltimore, MDETA aptitude test4year-round, in personsource
Birmingham Electrical JATC
Local 136
Birmingham, ALETA aptitude testnot publishedno window shownsource
Boston JATC
Local 103
Boston, MAGAN Aptitude Test Batterynone (ranked)“Applications will be accepted online January 4-29, 2027”source
Electricians JAC Buffalo
Local 41
Buffalo, NYETA aptitude test (probable)not publishedOpen: recruitment Oct 7, 2026 – Sep 29, 2027source
EJATT / IN-TECH
Local 134
Chicago, ILGAN Aptitude Test Battery (PEF; test not named)not publishedRegistration “every Wednesday from 9:00 am – 11:00 am”; open through Feb 2027 for the March 2027 testsource
Cleveland Electrical JATC
Local 38
Cleveland, OHETA aptitude test (AIR)“qualifying score” (no number)monthly, limited availabilitysource
Electrical Trades Center
Local 683
Columbus, OHGAN Aptitude Test Batterynone (ranked 0–100)Rolling; “you have 60 days to complete your application file”source
North Texas Electrical JATC
Local 20
Dallas, TXETA aptitude test5 or higher (qualifies for an interview)“Applicants are interviewed and accepted into the program year-round.”source
Denver JEATC
Local 68
Denver, COGAN Aptitude Test Batterynone (ranking)“APPLICATIONS ARE CLOSED. APPLICATIONS WILL REOPEN ON FEBRUARY 1st, 2027”source
Des Moines Electrical Apprenticeship
Local 347
Des Moines, IAGAN Aptitude Test Batterynot publishednot statedsource
Detroit EITC
Local 58
Detroit, MIGAN Aptitude Test Batterynot published“Application Portal is Closed. Application dates will be posted the spring of 2027”source
Central California Electrical Training Institute
Local 100
Fresno, CAGAN Aptitude Test Batterynone (ranked)“Applications can be submitted at any time online”source
Hartford Electricians JATC
Local 35
Hartford, CTETA aptitude testnot published“now accepts applications year-round”source
Hawaii Electricians JATC
Local 1186
Honolulu, HIETA aptitude testset by the JACportal: Oahu “Closed until further notice”source
Houston Electrical JATC
Local 716
Houston, TXETA aptitude testnot publishedClosed “August 1, 2026 – October 31, 2026”source
Electrical Training Institute of Indianapolis
Local 481
Indianapolis, INGAN Aptitude Test Battery (PEF; test not named)not published“We accept applications year-round”source
ETA Jacksonville
Local 177
Jacksonville, FLETA aptitude testnot publishednot shownsource
Kansas City Electrical JATC
Local 124
Kansas City, MOETA aptitude test (AIR)“passing score” (no number)first 7 days of each month until full; next Nov 1–7source
Electrical JATC of Southern Nevada
Local 357
Las Vegas, NVETA aptitude testnot published“Applications are currently closed.”source
Long Island JATC
Local 25
Long Island, NYETA aptitude testnot publishedonly during NYS DOL recruitment periods; no 2026 notice foundsource
LA/OC Electrical Training Institute
Local 11
Los Angeles, CAGAN Aptitude Test Batterynone published2026 notice dated January 26, 2026source
Louisville Electrical JATC
Local 369
Louisville, KYGAN Aptitude Test Battery (PEF; test not named)not published (interviews held)“Applications: CLOSED”; testing Oct 19–22, 2026 for the September applicantssource
Memphis Electrical JATC
Local 474
Memphis, TNETA aptitude testnot publishedclosed September 14, 2026source
IBEW 349 apprenticeship
Local 349
Miami, FLNot named (algebra + reading described)not publishedno window shownsource
Milwaukee Electrical Training Institute
Local 494
Milwaukee, WIGAN Aptitude Test Batterynot published“Our apprenticeship application window is now open!”source
Minneapolis Electrical JATC
Local 292
Minneapolis, MNGAN Aptitude Test Batterynone (ranked)Open: Winter period “October 1st, 2026 – February 15th, 2027”source
Nashville Electrical JATC
Local 429
Nashville, TNGAN Aptitude Test Batterynone (“not pass/fail”)Online, year-roundsource
New Orleans Electrical JATC
Local 130
New Orleans, LANot named3 (scale not named)“APPLICATIONS FOR THE 2026-2027 SCHOOL YEAR ARE NOW CLOSED”source
Joint Industry Board, Local 3 JAC
Local 3
New York, NYETA aptitude test3Recruitment “October 19, 2026 through October 30, 2026”; 300 apprentices; application by Registered Mail request onlysource
ETA of Western Oklahoma
Local 1141
Oklahoma City, OKETA aptitude test4 of 9year-round; monthly test, first 30 complete applicantssource
Electrical Training Alliance of Central Florida
Local 606
Orlando, FLNot named (algebra + reading described)PASS/FAIL“We accept applications every day through our online portal.”source
IBEW 164 JATC
Local 164
Paramus, NJNot namednot publishedvoucher lottery Oct 5 – Oct 9 noon, 2026source
IBEW 102 JATC
Local 102
Parsippany, NJNot namednot publishedclosed; portal reopens Dec 1, 2026source
Phoenix Electrical JATC
Local 640
Phoenix, AZGAN Aptitude Test Battery“There is no minimum score required”Open: “The application deadline is March 15, 2027 @ 4:00 PM”source
Western PA Electrical JATC
Local 5
Pittsburgh, PANot namednot published“Applications Are Now Closed for the 2026-2027 School Year”source
NECA-IBEW Electrical Training Center
Local 48
Portland, ORETA aptitude test (exact format)not published“Inside Program – Closed”source
IBEW 99 JATC
Local 99
Providence, RINot namednot published“currently closed”source
Inland Empire Electrical Training Center
Local 440/477
Riverside/San Bernardino, CANot named (algebra + reading described)5“WE ARE NOT ACCEPTING ANYMORE APPLICATIONS AT THIS TIME.”source
Sacramento 340 JATC
Local 340
Sacramento, CAETA aptitude testnot publishednot statedsource
South Texas JATC
Local 60
San Antonio, TXNot namednot publishedonline; no dates shownsource
Electrical Training Institute, San Diego
Local 569
San Diego, CANot named (algebra + reading described)not published“may be submitted at any time”source
ETA of Silicon Valley
Local 332
San Jose, CANot named (algebra + reading described)not publishedapplications open the first 3 days of each month, max 300source
Puget Sound Electrical JATC
Local 46
Seattle, WAETA aptitude test (state standards)5 (Inside Wireman); 4 (Limited Energy)"Applications are closed"; "no set date for reopening"source
Inland Empire Electrical Apprenticeship
Local 73
Spokane, WAETA aptitude test5 (Inside)selection usually in spring/summer; current status not statedsource
Tucson Electrical JATC
Local 570
Tucson, AZETA aptitude test4Open; “Deadline to apply for September 2027 classes is March 1st 2027”source
JATC Local 26
Local 26
Washington DC / MDGAN Aptitude Test Battery“Minimum score requirements … have been eliminated.”“Applications are open all year”; March 31 deadline for the fall classsource

Puget Sound minimums are from its registered standards on WA L&I. Program names belong to their owners. “Not published” means the program’s own page does not state it. Your local JATC’s application page is always the final word: confirm the test before you study.

How to use this

  1. Find your JATC in the table and open its link.
  2. ETA test: practice algebra and reading by hand with a timer; most programs that publish a cutoff ask for 4 or 5.
  3. GAN test: add mechanical reasoning and paper folding practice, and prepare your Personal Experience Form documents. The GAN pack has 10 full practice tests and a 14-day PEF planner.
  4. Closed now? Use the wait: get any license your state requires, collect transcripts, and build your math.

Taking the ETA test? Try the free timed practice: algebra and reading in the published format.

U.S. Edition: 1,300 math and 216 reading questions, 6 timed simulations, interview prep and a guide to 49 JATCs. One payment, files yours to keep.

Taking the GAN test? Start with Practice Test 1, free: all six sections with worked keys.

GAN Practice Pack: 10 full-length GAN-style practice tests, 2,340 questions, every answer worked, US$29 once. Files yours to keep.

Questions people ask

Which aptitude test do IBEW apprenticeships use?

Most JATCs that name their test use the electrical training ALLIANCE aptitude test (formerly the NJATC test). In our October 9, 2026 check of 49 programs, 22 named the ETA test and 15 named the GAN Aptitude Test Battery; 12 did not name their test.

What score do I need on the IBEW aptitude test?

There is no national passing score. Programs that publish a minimum use 3 (for example New York Local 3), 4 (for example Baltimore and Tucson) or 5 (for example Seattle and Spokane). GAN programs usually rank applicants instead of using a minimum.

What is on the GAN aptitude test for electricians?

JATCs that use GAN list numerical computation, numerical reasoning, reading, mechanical reasoning and paper folding, taken on a computer with no calculator.

Can I use a calculator on the IBEW aptitude test?

No. The electrical training ALLIANCE says you cannot use a calculator, and GAN programs such as Columbus and Minneapolis also say calculators are not permitted.

Do my old aptitude scores transfer to a GAN program?

Not necessarily. JATC Local 26 in Washington, DC says scores from prior aptitude tests and interviews will not transfer into the GAN scoring system.

Change log

October 11, 2026: added the North Texas published cutoff (5 or higher to qualify for an interview) and the Puget Sound Limited Energy cutoff (4). October 9, 2026: page published from each program’s own page, checked October 9, 2026. Next re-check: November 2026. Spot an error? Email hello@tsaielectro.com and we correct it within 48 hours.

★ Resources
Scroll to Top
Not a licensed Professional Engineer in Texas or any U.S. state. Does not offer engineering services. Exam-prep education only.