Not selected · English · Dual units
My account Start free test
Home Page

Texas Electrician License Statistics (2026): Licenses by Type, County and Exam Pass Rates

Part of Texas Electrician Exams: every Texas license step and exam in one place.

On this page

Quick answer: Texas has 40,226 current Journeyman Electrician licenses, 18,651 Master Electrician licenses and 169,534 Electrical Apprentice licenses, about 4.2 apprentices for every Journeyman (TDLR data updated September 19, 2026). In fiscal year 2025, 20.56% of Journeyman Calculations exam attempts passed, the lowest of the Journeyman exam parts.

Counts come from TDLR’s public license list on data.texas.gov (dataset updated September 19, 2026, read October 3, 2026). Pass rates come from TDLR’s exam statistics pages and the May 12, 2026 advisory board staff report. Each table names its exact source and query.

Texas electrician licenses by type

LicenseCurrent licensesListed in the datasetSource query
Electrical Apprentice169,534274,391query
Journeyman Electrician40,22645,315query
Master Electrician18,65119,927query
Electrical Contractor12,26614,019query
Residential Wireman1,9762,556query
Journeyman Industrial Electrician641746query
Maintenance Electrician551669query
Journeyman Lineman7179query

"Current" means the license expires on or after September 19, 2026, the day TDLR last updated the dataset. "Listed" also counts licenses that have expired but are still in TDLR’s list. Source: TDLR – All Licenses, data.texas.gov, field license_type, counted by license_expiration_date_mmddccyy, read October 3, 2026.

Where Texas electricians are: top 15 counties

Counties ranked by current Journeyman Electrician licenses, by the county of the license holder’s mailing address.

CountyApprenticeJourneymanMasterResidential WiremanElectrical ContractorApprentices per Journeyman
Harris29,5055,4381,7572691,5115.4
Dallas21,9123,0999292047937.1
Bexar8,5723,0659831816672.8
Tarrant9,3812,4528581566093.8
El Paso3,0891,15335542762.7
Travis7,3181,0724851114246.8
Williamson4,7431,0645711113304.5
Montgomery2,7911,034465623092.7
Hidalgo12,082812346625014.9
Denton5,158794381522136.5
Collin3,704772348662574.8
Brazoria1,942707319231712.7
Galveston1,318693264161521.9
Nueces1,463563204111372.6
Ellis1,447560244151302.6
Mailing address outside Texas11,5002,4862,102221,1404.6

Source: TDLR – All Licenses, data.texas.gov, current licenses (expiring on or after September 19, 2026) counted by mailing_address_county: Apprentice query, Journeyman query, Master query, Residential Wireman query, Electrical Contractor query; read October 3, 2026.

Texas electrician exam pass rates, fiscal years 2024 and 2025

TDLR’s fiscal year runs September 1 to August 31. The figures count exam attempts, not people: one person who sits a part twice counts twice.

ExamFY2024 attemptsFY2024 pass rateFY2025 attemptsFY2025 pass rate
Journeyman (earlier single-exam format)8,49027.86%5,05027.52%
Journeyman NEC KnowledgeNot reportedNot reported5,73124.46%
Journeyman CalculationsNot reportedNot reported6,32820.56%
Master NEC Knowledge2,93426.01%3,47222.21%
Master Calculations3,48719.96%3,94619.08%
Residential Wireman96732.78%1,09830.15%
All electrician exams TDLR lists15,17026.37%26,30323.50%

Sources: TDLR Electrician Exam Statistics, Fiscal Year 2024 and Fiscal Year 2025, read October 3, 2026. The Journeyman exam is now given as two parts, NEC Knowledge and Calculations; FY2025 lists both formats. For more on what these rates mean, see our Texas electrician exam pass rates guide.

First attempt or retake: the early Journeyman exam, January 1, 2026 to March 31, 2026

Candidates who take the Journeyman exam early, at 7,000 hours of on-the-job training, are reported separately by TDLR, with first attempts and repeat attempts apart.

CandidatesFirst attempts passedFirst-time pass rateRepeat attempts passedRepeat pass rateAll attempts
All early Journeyman candidates119 of 17767.23%98 of 49719.72%32.20%
Candidates in an apprenticeship program66 of 7983.54%46 of 19423.71%41.03%

Source: TDLR Electrical Safety and Licensing Advisory Board staff report, May 12, 2026, "Early Journeyman Exam Statistics", read October 3, 2026.

What stands out

  • Apprentices far outnumber Journeymen. 169,534 current apprentice licenses against 40,226 Journeyman licenses: about 4.2 to 1. Harris County alone has 29,505 apprentices.
  • Most exam attempts fail. In FY2025, 23.50% of all 26,303 electrician exam attempts passed, down from 26.37% in FY2024. Journeyman Calculations passed 20.56% of the time.
  • The first attempt matters most. Early Journeyman candidates passed 67.23% of first attempts and 19.72% of repeat attempts. Candidates in an apprenticeship program passed 83.54% of first attempts.
  • Many Master licenses have out-of-state addresses. 2,102 of the 18,651 current Master Electrician licenses (11.3%) have a mailing address outside Texas.

How we counted

  • Source. Every license count is an aggregate query against TDLR’s public dataset "TDLR – All Licenses" (Socrata ID 7358-krk7) on data.texas.gov. We request counts only; no names, addresses or license numbers.
  • Current. A license counts as current when its expiration date is on or after September 19, 2026, the date TDLR last updated the dataset.
  • License types. The eight electrician license types above. Sign, appliance-installer and continuing-education provider licenses are left out.
  • Licenses, not people. One person can hold more than one license, and an Electrical Contractor license belongs to a business.
  • County. The county of the mailing address on the license record, which may differ from where the person works.
  • Exam figures. Attempts as TDLR publishes them, copied without adjustment.
  • Updates. We rerun the same queries every month and show the date of the newest TDLR data at the top of the page.

Next step on the Texas ladder

Cite this page

Engineer Tsai. (2026, October 3). Texas electrician license statistics. tsaielectro.com. https://www.tsaielectro.com/texas-electrician-license-statistics/

Data: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, TDLR – All Licenses (data set), data.texas.gov, updated September 19, 2026, https://data.texas.gov/dataset/TDLR-All-Licenses/7358-krk7

You are welcome to quote these numbers with a link to this page.

FAQ

How many licensed electricians are there in Texas?

TDLR’s public data, updated September 19, 2026, lists 40,226 current Journeyman Electrician licenses, 18,651 Master Electrician licenses and 169,534 Electrical Apprentice licenses. Counting all eight electrician license types, there are 243,916 current licenses, and one person can hold more than one.

How many apprentice electricians are there in Texas?

169,534 current Electrical Apprentice licenses as of September 19, 2026, about 4.2 for every current Journeyman Electrician license. The apprentice license needs no exam and renews every year.

What is the pass rate for the Texas Journeyman electrician exam?

In fiscal year 2025, 24.46% of Journeyman NEC Knowledge attempts and 20.56% of Journeyman Calculations attempts passed. Early Journeyman candidates passed 67.23% of first attempts and 19.72% of repeat attempts from January 1, 2026 to March 31, 2026.

Which Texas county has the most electricians?

Harris County, with 5,438 current Journeyman Electrician licenses and 29,505 apprentice licenses by mailing address, followed by Dallas and Bexar counties.

How often is this page updated?

Every month. We rerun the same data.texas.gov queries and check the TDLR exam statistics pages, and the date of the newest TDLR data is shown at the top of the page.

Sources

About Engineer Tsai

Engineer Tsai holds Taiwan’s national Class B Indoor Wiring Technician certificate and has run electrical and construction work on site at major builds: MEP engineer on a smart temperature-controlled logistics center at Taipei Port, and site engineer on the second-phase campus of Jiufenzi Junior and Elementary School in Tainan and on the Liugui Administrative Center in Kaohsiung, honored at the 25th Public Construction Golden Quality Awards. On his YouTube channel @tsai.electro, he teaches people breaking into the electrical trade.

He builds these Texas pages from the official TDLR pages, TDLR’s public data and the PSI candidate bulletin, cites NEC articles by number only, and dates every source. Found an error? Tell us and we will correct it.

★ Resources
Scroll to Top