Not selected · English · Dual units
My account Join free Start free test
Home Texas Electrical Apprenticeship Application Dates (Checked October 9, 2026)

Texas Electrical Apprenticeship Application Dates (Checked October 9, 2026)

Open now (October 9, 2026): Galveston, North Texas, Austin and South Texas JATCs, IEC Greater San Antonio and San Jacinto College. Closed: Houston JATC (until October 31, 2026), CenTex IEC (next window November 1 to December 31) and ABC South Texas (2026-27 classes started). Five programs post no window: call them.

Every row uses the program’s own wording and links to its page. “Not posted” means the program’s site does not state dates. We re-check every program monthly.

Every Texas program, one table

ProgramRouteAreaStatus Oct 9What the program saysLink
Galveston Electrical JATC (IBEW 527)Test firstTexas City (Houston area)OpenYear round, in person Tuesday to Thursday, 9 AM to 3 PM; bring every document.source
North Texas Electrical JATCTest firstDallas-Fort WorthOpenOnline application; applicants are interviewed and accepted year round. Semesters start in January and July.source
Austin Electrical JATC (Austin ETA)Test firstAustinOpen“The application portal is now open!” No closing, test or interview dates posted. Retest wait: three months.source
South Texas Electrical JATC (IBEW 60)Test firstSan AntonioOpenApply online or in person, 24/7/365. Aptitude test typically the second Monday of each month; interviews typically the fourth Tuesday.source
IEC Greater San AntonioHired firstSan Antonio, New BraunfelsOpenYear round, in person at the IEC Training Center, Monday to Thursday, 9 AM to 4 PM.source
San Jacinto College, Electrical Technology AASSchoolPasadena (Houston)OpenOpen admission; spring 2027 registration opened September 28, 2026; spring term begins January 11, 2027.source
Houston Electrical JATC (IBEW 716)Test firstHoustonClosedClosed August 1 to October 31, 2026; official transcripts still accepted. The JATC says it is updating its application process and costs; no reopening details posted yet.source
CenTex IECHired firstAustin, Killeen, WacoClosedBetween windows. Open enrollment June 1 to August 31 and November 1 to December 31. Classes start every September.source
ABC South TexasHired firstSan Antonio, South TexasClosed2026-27 enrollment closed August 12, 2026; classes began September 8, 2026. 2027-28 dates not posted.source
Texas Gulf Coast Electrical JATC (IBEW 278)Test firstCorpus ChristiNot postedOnline application (US$20). Open or closed status and test dates not stated on its site.source
IEC DallasHired firstDallas (Irving)Not postedIn-person applications Tuesday to Thursday, 2 PM to 6 PM; the only window on its homepage has expired. Starts in September or January.source
IEC Fort Worth / Tarrant CountyHired first or self-payFort WorthNot postedStart with the online interest form to get the application; no window posted. Classes September to June; employer-sponsored first-years can start in January.source
ABC Southeast Texas Training CenterSchool (evening craft training)Beaumont, NederlandNot postedNo semester dates posted; the center says to contact it for current enrollment.source
ABC Greater Houston / CMEFHired firstLa Porte (Houston)Not postedFall 2026 electrical classes running (Level 1 September 1 to December 17, 2026); spring 2027 schedule not posted.source
IEC Texas Gulf CoastHired firstHoustonSee noteChecked October 8, 2026: employment applications in person Monday to Thursday 8 AM to 5 PM, Friday 9 AM to 1 PM; classes start September and January. Its site blocked our October 9 check.source

Dates coming up

  1. Second Monday of each month: South Texas JATC typically holds its aptitude test; interviews typically the fourth Tuesday.
  2. After October 31, 2026: Houston JATC’s closure period ends; the JATC says new process and cost details are coming.
  3. November 1 to December 31, 2026: CenTex IEC open enrollment.
  4. January 2027: North Texas JATC spring semester and San Jacinto College spring term (January 11) begin.

Looking for electrician jobs in Texas?

Some contractors hire helpers and apprentices directly, outside program application windows. Join our free Texas list and licensed electrical contractors we have checked can contact you.

A list, not a job posting. We email you before any contractor sees your details, and you can leave the list at any time.

How to use this

Test-first programs (JATCs) need the aptitude test and an interview, so practice early. Hired-first programs (IEC, ABC) need a contractor to hire you before class, so start calling contractors now. See the four Houston routes and the free aptitude practice.

Testing soon? Check where you stand with the free timed practice.

Entry Kit: 13 Texas programs, a 7-day start plan, 6 timed simulations, 1,300 math and 216 reading questions, interview prep and the Houston contractor call list. Launch price US$49 through November 30, 2026.

Questions people ask

Which Texas electrical apprenticeships are open right now?

As of October 9, 2026: Galveston, North Texas, Austin and South Texas Electrical JATCs, IEC Greater San Antonio and San Jacinto College are taking applications. Houston JATC, CenTex IEC and ABC South Texas are closed.

When does Houston Electrical JATC open?

Its applications are closed from August 1 to October 31, 2026. The JATC says it is updating its application process and costs and has not yet posted reopening details; transcripts are still accepted.

When is CenTex IEC open enrollment?

CenTex IEC lists open enrollment June 1 to August 31 and November 1 to December 31; classes start every September.

Can I apply to South Texas JATC any time?

Yes. South Texas Electrical JATC takes applications online or in person 24/7/365; the aptitude test is typically the second Monday of each month.

Which Houston-area JATC can I apply to now?

Galveston Electrical JATC in Texas City accepts applications year round, in person Tuesday to Thursday, 9 AM to 3 PM.

Change log

October 9, 2026: page published; 14 programs checked on their own sites October 9, IEC Texas Gulf Coast October 8. Next re-check: November 1, 2026. Spot an error? Email hello@tsaielectro.com and we correct it within 48 hours.

★ Resources
Scroll to Top
Not a licensed Professional Engineer in Texas or any U.S. state. Does not offer engineering services. Exam-prep education only.