Not selected · English · Dual units
My account Join free Start free test
Home Florida Electrician Apprenticeship: How to Become an Electrician in Florida (2026)

Florida Electrician Apprenticeship: How to Become an Electrician in Florida (2026)

Short answer: Florida has no state journeyman electrician license. source You start by joining a registered apprenticeship or getting hired under a licensed electrical contractor; union programs take 4 years with at least 8,000 on-the-job hours plus classroom hours. sources: 1, 2 With that experience, you apply to your county or city for a journeyman card and pass its exam and paperwork checks; under s. 489.5335 other Florida counties and cities must recognize the card, but Miami-Dade’s own page says it reciprocates only with Broward and Palm Beach in specific categories, so confirm with the county where you will work. sources: 1, 2 The state license is the electrical contractor license, either certified (statewide) or registered (local). source Union programs in Orlando, Jacksonville and IBEW 349 start at US$18.93 to US$21.49 an hour with no tuition; at Orlando and Jacksonville you pay books of about US$780 to US$1,100 a year, and a county card costs US$220 to US$240. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Every fact below comes from the state agency or the program’s own page, checked October 9, 2026.

Florida quick facts

QuestionFlorida answer (checked October 9, 2026)Source
State journeyman license?None. Counties and cities issue journeyman cards under s. 489.5335, and the statute says other Florida counties and cities must recognize them. Miami-Dade’s own page says it reciprocates only with Broward and Palm Beach in specific categories, so confirm with the county where you will work. sources: 1, 2, 3
Minimum age16 for a registered apprentice under state law. Most programs ask for 18. Orlando’s JATC takes applications at 17, but you must be 18 when registered. sources: 1, 2, 3
Apprenticeship length4 years at Orlando, Jacksonville and Tampa, with at least 8,000 on-the-job hours at Orlando, Daytona and IBEW 349. IBEW 349’s current page says about 4 years (its older page said 5). sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Classroom hours720 (Orlando) or 792 (Daytona) over the apprenticeship. sources: 1, 2
Entry testMath and reading aptitude test at Orlando, Jacksonville, Tampa and IBEW 349; algebra required at Orlando, Jacksonville and IBEW 349. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4
Journeyman standard (s. 489.5335)At least 75% on a proctored exam (Hillsborough, Miami-Dade and Broward also publish 75%), plus a registered apprenticeship or 12,000 hours on the job, plus Florida Building Commission code coursework. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4
County card feeUS$220 Hillsborough, US$240 Miami-Dade, US$225 Broward. sources: 1, 2, 3
Pay in year oneUS$18.93 to US$21.49 an hour to start on the Orlando, Jacksonville and IBEW 349 pages. sources: 1, 2, 3
TuitionNone at Orlando’s JATC or IBEW 349; Jacksonville tuition is sponsored. Books cost about US$780 to US$1,100 a year at Orlando and Jacksonville. sources: 1, 2, 3
State contractor licenseAge 18 and 3 to 6 years of qualifying experience (40% on 3-phase service), then a two-part, open book exam at 75% on each part. sources: 1, 2, 3

Start here this week

  1. Find your county. Journeyman card rules and fees are set by the county or city, so check yours in the license table below. source
  2. Get your transcript and check algebra. Orlando, Jacksonville and IBEW 349 all ask for passed algebra; Tampa asks for transcripts or GED scores. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4
  3. List 1 or 2 programs you can reach. Use the programs table below, or search apprenticeship openings near you on the federal Apprenticeship Job Finder. source
  4. Note the dates. Jacksonville closes November 5, 2026. IBEW 349’s next deadline is March 1, 2027 for the 2027-2028 class. Orlando, Daytona and Tampa take applications all year. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
  5. Need to start earning first? Jacksonville’s Construction Wireman entry job needs no experience. source

Step by step

  1. Meet the basics. Most programs want age 18 and a high school diploma or GED. Orlando’s JATC takes applications from Florida residents at 17, but you must be 18 when you are registered as an apprentice. sources: 1, 2, 3
  2. Get algebra on your transcript. Orlando asks for 1 year of algebra with a passing grade. Jacksonville says Algebra 1 is mandatory. IBEW 349 accepts the online Tech Math course if you did not pass algebra. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4
  3. Pick your route. Apply straight to a union JATC, or get hired first by an IEC or ABC member contractor, who then registers you. sources: 1, 2
  4. Pass the aptitude test. Union programs test math and reading. Jacksonville needs a score of 4 or higher for an interview. IBEW 349 uses the NJATC Apprentice Selection Test Battery, and Tampa uses the Electrical Training Alliance Aptitude Test. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4
  5. Interview and wait. Orlando says an interview can take up to 6 months and keeps you on its ranking list for 2 years. IBEW 349 keeps you on its list for 1 year from your interview. sources: 1, 2
  6. Work and go to class for 4 years. Expect 8,000 on-the-job hours plus 720 to 792 classroom hours. The schedule depends on the program: one 9-hour day every other week in Orlando, one 8-hour day every two weeks in Tampa, nights or Saturdays in Jacksonville. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4
  7. Get your county journeyman card. The state standard has three parts: at least 75% on a proctored exam, a registered apprenticeship or 12,000 hours on the job, and Florida Building Commission code coursework (proof can come within 6 months if the county allows). Hillsborough, Miami-Dade and Broward all publish a 75% pass mark. Under s. 489.5335 other Florida counties and cities must recognize your card, but Miami-Dade’s own page says it reciprocates only with Broward and Palm Beach in specific categories, so confirm with the county where you will work. sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
  8. Later, if you want your own business: qualify for the state certified contractor exam with years of supervisor, training or management experience, at least 40% of it on 3-phase service work. sources: 1, 2

Routes compared

Union JATC

Apply on your own, pass algebra and a math and reading test, then earn while you learn. No tuition at Orlando, Jacksonville or IBEW 349; you buy books at Orlando and Jacksonville. sources: 1, 2, 3

IEC or ABC

Get hired first. Your employer registers you and, at ABC Florida Gulf Coast, pays tuition. sources: 1, 2

School first

A 1,200-hour electricity certificate is school, not a paid job. The two Florida programs we checked list US$6,489 and about US$7,182. sources: 1, 2

RouteWho it fitsTest to get inCostYearsPay while learning
Union JATC (IBEW and NECA)You want a structured program and have passed algebraAptitude test in math and reading; algebra required sources: 1, 2, 3Tuition free in Orlando and at IBEW 349, sponsored in Jacksonville; books up to US$1,100 a year (Orlando) or about US$780 a year (Jacksonville) sources: 1, 2, 34 (Orlando, Jacksonville, Daytona, Tampa); about 4 at IBEW 349 sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5US$18.93 (Orlando inside wireman, first step) to US$21.49 (IBEW 349 starting pay) sources: 1, 2, 3
Construction Wireman first (Jacksonville)You want to start work now with no experienceNone stated; US$5 to start the online application sourceUS$5 applicationEntry job, not an apprenticeshipNot stated
IEC (Florida West Coast chapter)You can get hired by an IEC member contractor firstNot stated on the chapter’s class page; your employer registers you sourceCheck with the chapterCheck with the chapterSet by your employer
ABC (Florida Gulf Coast chapter)You already work, or can get hired, at a commercial contractorNo aptitude test named on the page sourceEmployer pays tuition source4 sourceSet by your employer
Technical college certificateYou want classroom basics first; the certificate is school, not a jobBasic Skills Assessment within 6 weeks of admission (Manatee) sourceExamples: US$6,489 (Emerald Coast, 2026-27) and US$7,182 estimated (Manatee) sources: 1, 2About 10 to 11 months full time (1,200 hours) sources: 1, 2The certificate program does not pay wages
Work your way up (no program)You can get hired as a helper now and document every yearNone to get hiredNo tuition; county card fees later3 to 6 years of documented work, by county sources: 1, 2, 3Set by your employer

Working before you have a card

You can work as an employee of a licensed electrical contractor before you hold any card. Florida’s contractor law does not apply to an employee acting within the scope of the employer’s license and with the license holder’s permission. source You cannot contract on your own: Hillsborough says its journeyman certificate does not permit the holder to perform any work or enter into any contracts on his or her own. source

Keep records from day one, because the county cards we checked all ask for proof of experience:

  • W-2s for every year you work. Broward asks for your last 4 years of W-2s, and Miami-Dade says W-2s must show full-time work. sources: 1, 2
  • A letter or signed form from each employer with your dates and trade work. Miami-Dade’s website asks for employer letters with dates and work described plus W-2s, and its application also accepts other proof and an employer affidavit; Hillsborough uses a Journeyman Verification of Construction Experience form. sources: 1, 2, 3
  • Your apprenticeship completion certificate, if you finish one. Hillsborough asks for it. source

Florida license and certification details

Journeyman cards are issued by counties and cities, so the rules below differ by county. The card is not a contractor license: you still work under a licensed electrical contractor, or, in Miami-Dade’s words, under the direction of a master in your trade. sources: 1, 2 At the state level, the electrical license is the contractor license, certified or registered. Some counties, such as Miami-Dade, also issue a local master electrician certificate, listed as a category requiring state registration. sources: 1, 2

CategoryHours or experienceClassroomExamFeeSource
Apprentice (state registered program)Age 16 or older, written agreement with a registered sponsor; example program: 2,000 on-the-job hours a year144 hours a year (George Stone example)None at the state levelNone found for a separate state apprentice cardstatute sources: 1, 2
Journeyman, state standard for statewide recognition, s. 489.5335Registered state-approved apprenticeship, or at least 12,000 hours of on-the-job training in the tradeSpecialized and advanced module coursework approved by the Florida Building Commission; if the issuing authority allows, proof can come within 6 months after the licenseAt least 75% on a proctored Block and Associates exam or another board-approved examSet by the county or citystatute source
Journeyman, Hillsborough County (Tampa)12,000 hours (6 years) under a licensed contractor, or 8,000 hours (4 years) plus a completed 4-year Florida approved apprenticeshipNot listed75% minimum, open bookUS$50 to start the application, US$100 when accepted, US$70 one-time registration (US$220 total; county page last modified August 6, 2026); the certificate does not expirecounty page PDF
Journeyman, Miami-Dade County3 years of proven field experience, an education equivalent, or a mix of the two (no more than half education). The county website asks for employer letters and W-2s; the application also accepts other documentary proof and an employer affidavit in place of the letter; W-2s must show full-time work. Confirm substitutes with Contractor LicensingNot listedOne-part technical exam, open book, 75 percent or better to passUS$240; you may only work under the direction of a master in your tradecounty page exam page PDF
Master electrician, Miami-Dade County (local certificate)2 years holding a journeyman certificate issued by the county board (CTQB) plus at least 2 years of prior field experience, or at least 6 years of specialized training, or registration as a PE in the disciplineNot listedTwo-part exam, technical and businessUS$315; listed as a category requiring state registrationcounty page PDF
Journeyman, Broward County (Fort Lauderdale)At least 4 years of practical electrical experience; last 4 years of W-2sNot listed75% to pass; no Business and Law exam; tested by GITS or ProVUS$225 application; US$120 renewal (from January 1, 2025)county source
Journeyman, Orange County (Orlando)Check with the countyCheck with the countyCheck with the countyCheck with the countyWe could not open the county site on October 9, 2026 county page
Certified electrical contractor (state, works statewide)Age 18 or older, plus one route: 3 years of management experience in the last 6; 4 years as supervisor or contractor (or as an Armed Forces electrical supervisor) in the last 8; 6 years of training, technical education or supervisory experience (Armed Forces or government work counts) in the last 12; 3 years as a licensed PE qualified in electrical work in the last 12; or a mix of the first three routes totaling 6 years. At least 40% of the experience must be 3-phase service work. You also file a credit report and W-2s.Education can count toward the management and training routesTwo parts, open book, 75% on each; content is 60% technical, 33% business, 7% safetyCheck with the state board before you applystatute and rules source rule 5.003 rule 6.001 rule text
Registered electrical contractor (local)Meets the competency rules of the local jurisdiction, then registers with the stateSet locallySet locallySet locallystatute source

Hillsborough’s older printable PDF still shows US$150 plus US$70; the county page now splits it into US$50, US$100 and US$70. The total is the same US$220.

Programs and their status on October 9, 2026

ProgramMetroTest usedStatus on October 9, 2026Link
ETA Jacksonville (IBEW 177)JacksonvilleNationally designed aptitude test in math and reading (the page’s testing link goes to the electrical training ALLIANCE); score 4 or higher for an interview; Algebra 1 required; 2,000 documented hours can qualify you for an interviewOpen Deadline November 5, 2026. Classes 1 or 2 nights a week or 2 Saturdays a month apply home
ETA Jacksonville Construction Wireman (entry job)JacksonvilleNone stated; no experience neededOpen Online application, US$5 to start apply
ETA of Central Florida (IBEW 606)OrlandoAptitude exam in math and reading, pass or fail within 24 hours; 1 year of algebra with a passing grade; apply at 17, be 18 when registered; reliable transportationOpen Applications every day online; interview can take up to 6 months; ranking list lasts 2 years; class is one 9-hour day every other week apply details
Daytona Beach Electrical JATCDaytona BeachThe industry’s validated aptitude examOpen Applications accepted all year source
IBEW 349 apprenticeship (Electrical Training Alliance of South Florida)Offices in Miami and Fort MyersNJATC Apprentice Selection Test Battery: algebra and reading comprehension; age 18; passing grade in algebra (or the online Tech Math course); no electrical experience neededOpen Applications all year; next deadline March 1, 2027 for the 2027-2028 class; ranking list lasts 1 year from your interview; about 4 years, tuition free, 8,000 on-the-job hours (page updated September 28, 2026) apply older page
Tampa Area Electrical JATC (IBEW 915)TampaElectrical Training Alliance Aptitude Test in math and reading; age 18 at application; 4,000 documented hours in electrical construction may qualify you for a direct interview or direct entryOpen Always accepting applications; interviews monthly; new class each January and July when work allows; 4-year program; class one 8-hour day every two weeks apply about training
IEC Florida West CoastPasco County (classes at Marchman Technical College)Not stated; employer must be an IEC member and registers youHire first; classes Monday and Wednesday or Tuesday and Thursday, 6 to 9 PM source
ABC Florida Gulf CoastTampaNo aptitude test namedHire first; classes once a week, 5 to 9 PM, September through May source
Florida Electrical Apprenticeship Training (FEAT), ABC Central Florida’s electrical partnerOrlandoNot statedCheck with the program; apprentices registered with the U.S. Department of Labor and Florida Department of Education source ABC page
George Stone Technical College apprenticeshipPensacolaNot stated; age 18 and a diploma or GEDCheck with the school; registered with the Florida Department of Education, program FL007730001 source
Indian River State College electrical apprenticeshipIndian River State College campusesNot statedCheck with the college; program is 8,220 hours source

Program names belong to their owners. The program’s own page is always the final word.

Looking for electrician jobs in Florida?

Some contractors hire helpers and apprentices directly, outside program application windows. Join our free Florida list and licensed electrical contractors we have checked can contact you.

A list, not a job posting. We email you before any contractor sees your details, and you can leave the list at any time.

Apprentice and journeyman pay from official sources

Program wages below are what each program’s page showed on October 9, 2026. The BLS row is a survey with a May 2025 reference period, so it is older than the date we checked it.

SourceFirst-year apprentice (per hour)Later stepsJourneyman (per hour)EffectiveLink
ETA Jacksonville (IBEW 177), program wage tableUS$19.07US$22.07, US$25.06, US$28.05 (years 2 to 4)US$37.40No date on the table; shown October 9, 2026 source
ETA of Central Florida (IBEW 606), inside wireman wage tableUS$18.93 (1st step); the same page’s FAQ says US$18.15US$29.93 (5th step)Not publishedNo date on the table; shown October 9, 2026 source
ETA of Central Florida, WDW wage tableUS$21 (1st year)US$22, US$23, US$24 (years 2 to 4)Not publishedNo date on the table; shown October 9, 2026 source
George Stone Technical College (Pensacola)Based on the average entry-level journeyman wageNot listedAbout US$23 entry-level averageCurrent on October 9, 2026 source
IBEW 349 (Electrical Training Alliance of South Florida)US$21.49 starting pay; the same page’s chart shows about US$22.66 in year 1 (rates subject to change)Higher rate each year (no figures)Full scale wage (no figure)No date on the chart; shown October 9, 2026 source
Federal survey: BLS OEWS, Florida, all electricians (not a wage rate or determination)n/an/aMean US$27.72, median US$27.52 (US$57,660 and US$57,250 a year); 49,700 employedMay 2025 source

Program figures come from each program’s own wage table. Orlando’s page shows two tables (WDW and inside wireman) and a FAQ figure of US$18.15 for inside wireman, and IBEW 349’s page shows both US$21.49 starting pay and about US$22.66 for year 1; ask the program which applies to you. The BLS figures are a federal survey of all electricians in Florida, not a union rate or a state wage determination.

Costs and timeline

ItemCost or timeSource
Union JATC tuitionTuition free (Orlando, IBEW 349); sponsored (Jacksonville); you pay books at Orlando and Jacksonville sources: 1, 2, 3
Union booksUp to US$1,100 a school year (Orlando); about US$780 a year (Jacksonville) sources: 1, 2
Application feeUS$5 to start the online application (Jacksonville) source
Merit-shop tuitionPaid by your employer (ABC Florida Gulf Coast) source
Technical college certificateExamples: US$6,489 (Emerald Coast, 2026-27) and US$7,182 estimated (Manatee); 1,200 hours; the program does not pay wages sources: 1, 2
Financial aidDaytona’s union program is not eligible for federal or state aid source
Wait to start (union)Orlando: up to 6 months to interview, ranking list 2 years. IBEW 349: about 6 months to 1 year to finish the process, ranking list 1 year. Tampa: interviews monthly, new classes each January and July sources: 1, 2, 3
Apprenticeship4 years: 8,000 on-the-job hours plus 720 (Orlando) or 792 (Daytona) classroom hours; about 4 years and 8,000 on-the-job hours at IBEW 349 sources: 1, 2, 3
Class scheduleVaries: one 9-hour day every other week (Orlando); 1 or 2 nights a week or 2 Saturdays a month (Jacksonville); one 8-hour day every two weeks (Tampa); twice a week, 6 to 9 PM (IEC West Coast) sources: 1, 2, 3, 4
County journeyman cardUS$220 in Hillsborough (US$50 + US$100 + US$70), US$240 in Miami-Dade, US$225 in Broward sources: 1, 2, 3
Contractor license (later)At least 3 to 6 years of qualifying experience, then the two-part exam sources: 1, 2

Applying to a Florida JATC? Jacksonville, Orlando, Tampa and IBEW 349 all test math and reading. Try the free timed aptitude practice.

U.S. Edition: 1,300 math and 216 reading questions, 6 timed simulations, interview prep and a guide to 49 JATCs. One payment, files yours to keep.

Comparing programs in other states? See which aptitude test each JATC uses and first-year IBEW apprentice pay by local.

Questions people ask

Does Florida have a state journeyman electrician license?

No. Hillsborough County states there is no State of Florida requirement to hold a journeyman certificate. Counties and cities issue journeyman licenses under Florida Statutes s. 489.5335. The state license is for electrical contractors, either certified or registered. Some counties, such as Miami-Dade, also issue a local master electrician certificate.

Does a Florida county journeyman card work in other counties?

Yes, if it was issued under s. 489.5335. That law says counties and cities must recognize a journeyman licensed by another Florida county or city, and Hillsborough says its certificate is recognized in all jurisdictions in Florida. Miami-Dade’s own page says it reciprocates only with Broward and Palm Beach in specific categories, so confirm with the county where you will work.

How many hours do I need for a journeyman card in Florida?

It depends on the county. Hillsborough asks for 12,000 hours, or 8,000 hours plus a completed 4-year Florida approved apprenticeship. Miami-Dade asks for 3 years of field experience, an education equivalent, or a mix (no more than half education), and Broward for at least 4 years with W-2s. Hillsborough, Miami-Dade and Broward all require 75% on the exam. The state standard in s. 489.5335 is a registered apprenticeship or 12,000 hours on the job, at least 75% on a proctored exam, and Florida Building Commission code coursework, which can be finished within 6 months after licensing if the issuing authority allows.

Can I work on my own with a Florida journeyman card?

No. Hillsborough County says its journeyman certificate does not permit the holder to perform any work or enter into any contracts on his or her own, and the holder must always work under a properly licensed electrical contractor. Miami-Dade says its journeyman certificate is not a contractor license and you may only work under the direction of a master in your trade. You can work as an employee of a licensed contractor without a card, within the scope of that contractor’s license. To contract on your own you need a state certified or registered electrical contractor license.

What test do Florida electrical apprenticeships use?

Union programs test math and reading. ETA Jacksonville uses a nationally designed aptitude test, links to the electrical training ALLIANCE testing site, and needs a score of 4 or higher for an interview. IBEW 349 uses the NJATC Apprentice Selection Test Battery in algebra and reading comprehension, and Tampa uses the Electrical Training Alliance Aptitude Test in math and reading. Orlando’s exam is pass or fail within 24 hours. Orlando, Jacksonville and IBEW 349 require algebra.

How much do electrician apprentices make in Florida?

On October 9, 2026, ETA Jacksonville’s wage table shows US$19.07 an hour in year one and US$37.40 for a journeyworker. ETA of Central Florida’s inside wireman table shows US$18.93 at the first step, its FAQ says US$18.15, and its WDW table shows US$21 in year one. IBEW 349 lists US$21.49 starting pay. The BLS May 2025 mean for all Florida electricians is US$27.72 an hour. Orlando, Jacksonville and IBEW 349 charge no tuition; at Orlando and Jacksonville books cost about US$780 to US$1,100 a year.

Can I join IEC or ABC in Florida without a job?

Not at the chapters we checked. IEC Florida West Coast says your employer must be an IEC member and will register you, and ABC Florida Gulf Coast requires you to work for a commercial contractor in your trade. If you need a job first, Jacksonville’s Construction Wireman entry position needs no experience.

Change log

October 9, 2026: page published; every fact from a state statute, rule, county or program page checked October 9, 2026. October 9, 2026 (review round 1): added quick facts and a start-here list; full s. 489.5335 standard and all s. 489.511 contractor routes with the 40% 3-phase rule; Orlando age 17 to apply and 18 at registration, 2-year ranking list and class schedule; Orlando wage labels; Hillsborough fee split from the county page; Miami-Dade proof options and local master certificate; IBEW 349 from its September 28, 2026 page; Jacksonville Construction Wireman entry job. Review round 3 (October 9, 2026): Miami-Dade education equivalent, master eligibility and proof wording from the county page; reciprocity caveat in the short answer. Review round 2 (October 9, 2026): IBEW 349 length, tuition, hours, starting pay and March 1, 2027 deadline from its current page; Miami-Dade 75% pass mark and reciprocity caveat; Tampa Area JATC details; working as an employee before a card (s. 489.503) and a records checklist; technical college wording. Next re-check: after ETA Jacksonville’s November 5, 2026 deadline, then January 2027. Spot an error? Email hello@tsaielectro.com and we correct it within 48 hours.

★ Resources
Scroll to Top
Not a licensed Professional Engineer in Texas or any U.S. state. Does not offer engineering services. Exam-prep education only.