Free entry check. Official pages checked 2026-10-27.
Texas Lineworker Entry Status and Printable Decision Tree
Use the table to identify a current official entry page, then use the decision tree to choose one route to verify next: school, CDL-first, or direct apprenticeship and employment.
Official entry status table
| Unit | Role or program | Minimum experience | CDL timing | Deadline | Check date | Status | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Austin, Austin Energy | Distribution Electrician Helper, Network | Not stated | Texas Class A at entry or within 120 days | Posting lists 2026-10-29 as the end date; the page says postings close at 11:59 p.m. the day before the listed date | 2026-10-27 | Confirmed open | Official posting |
| City of Bryan, Bryan Texas Utilities | BTU-Lineman, Apprentice or Journeyman | Related electrical construction or trade experience preferred, not required for the apprentice track | Texas Class C at entry; Class A within 180 days of employment | No closing date stated | 2026-10-27 | Confirmed open | Official posting |
| City of Seguin | Apprentice Lineman | Not stated | Texas Class A CDL with air brakes at entry | Open until filled | 2026-10-27 | Confirmed open | Official posting |
| Pedernales Electric Cooperative | Lineworker Apprentice 3 | Completion of DOL Apprentice Level 2 | Maintain eligibility to drive company vehicles; exact CDL timing not stated | Open until filled | 2026-10-27 | Confirmed open | Official posting |
| South Plains Electric Cooperative | Lineman, Childress, Texas | Not stated on the opened careers page | Not stated on the opened careers page | Not stated | 2026-10-27 | Confirmed open | Official careers page |
| Southwestern Line Constructors | Outside line apprenticeship | Not stated | Class A CDL and medical examiner certificate are listed application requirements | No deadline stated | 2026-10-27 | Standing portal only | Official program page |
| Texas State Technical College | Electrical Lineworker Technology | Not stated | Not stated on the program page | No cohort deadline stated | 2026-10-27 | Standing portal only | Official program page |
| IBEW Local 66 and SWLCAT | Outside line apprenticeship entry | Not stated | Class A CDL and DOT medical card listed as qualifications | No deadline stated | 2026-10-27 | Standing portal only | Official apprenticeship page |
| Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative | Careers search portal | No exact lineworker opening verified | No exact lineworker opening verified | No exact lineworker deadline verified | 2026-10-27 | Standing portal only | Official careers page |
| Oncor | Careers portal | No exact lineworker opening verified | No exact lineworker opening verified | No exact lineworker deadline verified | 2026-10-27 | Standing portal only | Official careers page |
| Apprenticeship.gov | Apprenticeship Job Finder | Depends on the exact sponsor posting | Depends on the exact sponsor posting | Depends on the exact sponsor posting | 2026-10-27 | Standing portal only | Official federal search |
| Taylor Electric Cooperative | Groundman or apprentice line role | A historical official posting said experience was preferred, not required; no current role verified | No current role verified | No current role verified | 2026-10-27 | Not verified | Official careers page |
Printable three-route decision tree
Gate 1: Do you have an exact current target?
- No: select one official employer, sponsor, or school page from the table. Do not apply from an aggregator.
- Yes: save the title, URL, and check date.
Gate 2: Which requirement blocks the target today?
- School route: choose this only if the target or your written comparison supports school first. Verify campus, intake, full charges, refund terms, completion evidence, and whether a target sponsor or employer recognizes it.
- CDL-first route: choose this when the target requires Class A at entry. Verify CLP timing with TxDPS, ELDT applicability, and the exact provider in the FMCSA Training Provider Registry before paying.
- Direct apprenticeship or employment route: choose this when the official target accepts your current qualifications or states a post-hire CDL window. Apply directly to the employer or sponsor.
Gate 3: Is every target-specific field recorded?
Record minimum education and experience, CDL class and timing, deadline, medical or physical requirements, drug testing, assessments, documents, original URL, and check date. A blank field stays Not stated. Recheck the page before any external action.
Selected route: ____________________ Target: ____________________ Recheck date: ____________________
Printable application record and status tracker
Keep one row per target. Change a status only when you hold the evidence in the second column. Opening a portal or clicking a link is not applying.
| Status | Evidence to save | What it does not mean | Next check date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standing portal | Official page URL and the date you checked it | Not a confirmed opening | The date you will look again for an exact posting |
| Confirmed open | Posting URL, title, posting ID, listed end date and a saved copy of the page | Not an application | A date before the listed end date |
| Expired or historical | Posting URL and the date it ended | Not open. Do not apply from it | The date you will check the official portal for a new posting |
| Applied | Submission receipt, confirmation email or another record from the target, with its date | Not an interview or an offer | The response date the target gives, or your own follow-up date |
| Waitlisted or orientation | Written notice that names the list or the orientation date, place and what to bring | Not an offer | The orientation date and the date to confirm your place |
| Closed or not selected | The written notice | Not a permanent bar unless the target says so | The reopening date, if the target states one |
My application record (print it or copy it into your own file)
| Target and posting ID | Status | Evidence saved | Date of evidence | Next check date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| _____ | _____ | _____ | _____ | _____ |
| _____ | _____ | _____ | _____ | _____ |
| _____ | _____ | _____ | _____ | _____ |
| _____ | _____ | _____ | _____ | _____ |
Building toward a line crew? ET Member walks you through 7 foundation skills. US$99/yr or US$14.99/mo after a 7-day free trial.
